About Congo

Full name: Democratic Republic of the Congo
Population: 64.7 million (UN, 2008)
Capital: Kinshasa
Area: 2.34 million sq km (905,354 sq miles)
Major languages: French – official language, Lingala, Kiswahili, Kikongo, Tshiluba
Major religions: Roman Catholic 50%, Protestant 20%, Kimbanguist 10%, Muslim 10%, other (includes syncretic sects and indigenous beliefs) 10%
Life expectancy: 45 years (men), 48 years (women) (UN)
Monetary unit: 1 Congolese franc = 100 centimes
Main exports: Diamonds, copper, coffee, cobalt, crude oil
Ethnic groups: Over 200 different groups

Congo Timeline: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/1072684.stm